Questions

What to say

What to say

It hasn’t been a quiet silence for me. The air feels charged with words.

A million little atoms knocking and colliding into each other. The air is ecstatic with potential.

But I can’t seem to catch a single word.

They all lie just beyond my reach, like Tantalus’ forbidden water.

My biggest question…

what’s relevant?

What can I say that will be true to where I’m at these days?

I don’t want to waste people’s time with mindless drivel about myself. Which is what I feel like I would be writing lately. Because the things I really feel like I could say are behind a thick cinder block wall.

I need a little stimulus. Something to wake me up. But I’m not sure what that is anymore.

You don’t become a better writer by sitting there wishing and hoping that you become a better writer. You have to work for it.

Maybe I’m just lazy.

How hard am I willing to work for this? How badly do I want it?

Perhaps those words aren’t as far out of reach as I think they are. Maybe I’m just not jumping high enough.

Or maybe I’m too afraid of them.

Will they sting once I have them in hand?

Questions.

Author: Allison H.

English Teacher. Coffee Addict. Lover of Books, Music, Knitting, Movies/TV, and other Nerdy Things. Typos and autocorrect are my arch nemeses.

2 thoughts on “Questions”

  1. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site.

    I really hope to view the same high-grade
    content from you in the future as well. In fact,
    your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own website now đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

