Welcome to Earth

Earth,

the magical place that, supposedly, all of those alien lifeforms want to come and invade.

Or something like that. I saw it on the History Channel, so it must be legit. Yeah?

Yeah. Right.

Earth is pretty magical though. I can see why all those aliens want it.

We have beautiful places, beautiful people.

Hundreds of Thousands of animals and creatures that we haven’t even stopped discovering yet. Not to mention our plant life, our caves, our hidden places.

But the fun thing about it is that it’s almost impossible to see the whole thing firsthand.

You’d have to be a crazy explorer with crazy skills and resources. And even then, you couldn’t see every inch of this big, beautiful place.

Yet, we accept that it all is really, well, real! Even though I haven’t seen the sands of Australia, I know they are there. Even though I’ve never seen the Forbidden Palace, I know it’s there.

It makes me think of the travel and explorer narratives I read in American Literature. When they were first coming to the New World everything was exactly that, new. It was so fascinating to read how they described things that are so everyday and common to me as exotic and strange.

It’s fascinating to me that we used to believe the Earth was flat and the sun revolved around us. Yet, there were those who knew that the Earth was round and in fact it revolved around the sun. They saw what others couldn’t see. They believed what others couldn’t believe. Some even died for that belief.

I think sometimes we get caught up in our own little worlds and we forget the big picture.

I once watched the sunrise over the Atlantic. It was a bitterly cold morning and I was shivering so hard my teeth were chattering. But I watched that sunrise and it was one of the most amazing moments. I couldn’t describe to you the colors. It was unlike anything I had ever experienced before. But I wasn’t the only one. My family was with me that morning.

But we weren’t the only ones to ever watch the sunrise on that coast. All up and down the Atlantic, other people were watching that sunrise. For years upon years upon years, people have watched the sunrise over that horizon.

And it was those shores that people first saw when they came to the New World. At some point, my ancestors landed on those shores. But maybe, for them, morning meant the first sight of land. The first sight of a new world to call home.

I guess what I’m saying is, don’t get so caught up in your own little corner of the world. If you do, everything becomes mundane, you lose faith. You start to wonder what you’re doing and why you’re here.

I’m not saying that there’s anything wrong with your corner. Or that you shouldn’t be striving for better, or that you should be discontent with what you have. What I’m saying is:

I’m not the only 20 something female college student who lives at home and doesn’t have a car.
I’m not the only person with a minimum wage job working in retail.
I’m not the only person who doesn’t know what they want in life, for certain.
I’m not the only person out there writing a blog.
I’m not the only person out there who likes writing poetry (to her absolute surprise).
I’m not the only person who has a hard time considering themselves a writer, even though people (other than your mom) has told you you’re good at it.
I’m not the only person who has hang ups and fears and misgivings.
I’m not the only one who quotes Bad Lip Reading videos.

I’m not the only one.

Sure, I am uniquely me, you are uniquely you. But we’re not the only unique people out there.

This is Earth. For all of our unique traits and quirks, we are not the only ones. We’ve never been the only ones.

If I focus too hard on myself and where I’m at, then I become discontent. What I have seems mundane and I end up wanting more. I get depressed because I think to myself, “what am I doing? Why am I here?” Forgetting that I’m not the only person asking those same questions. I’m not the only one whose struggling to understand their situation.

I’m not the only one failing to see the big picture.

I have to have faith that I’m where God wants me to be right now. I have to have faith that even though I can’t see something, doesn’t mean it’s not just over the horizon.

Morning has a way of revealing things, you just have to make it through the night.

I’m not quite sure if this whole post make sense. But life doesn’t make sense sometimes. So we’re just going to go with that.

Allison
One Reply to “Welcome to Earth”

Leave a Reply

