In Which We Discuss Best Friends, Photography Challenges, and Technical Issues…

Okay, before we progress any further with today’s post I would like to comment on the fact that my sidebars are not working.

*takes deep, calming breath*

I think the problem lies somewhere in the fact that I updated my theme (Platform) and it doesn’t like the newest version of WordPress, or some such nonsense. And as a result, none of my sidebars are working. I can’t even edit them in widgets. I suspect that I need another patch or I need to reinstall a patch (I am also getting an error saying a automated update failed), which is something I’ll have to see if my dad can help me with because he is the admin for the web hosting/domain side of things. However, if you happen to know of a plugin or something that can help me out in the meantime, that would be great!

Moving On…

The big attraction!

I want to talk a little about a certain somebody who is very near and dear to my heart,

One of my very best friends, Eden.

We grew up together, so when I say I know her really well, I’m not kidding! I had the honor of being one of her bridesmaids last June when she married her very sweet husband, Benjamin. Eden is a fabulous photographer, she’s been taking classes to over the past year and she recently got a job at a photography studio. To say that I’m not excited for her would be a huge understatement. It’s always exciting to see someone turn their passion into a career, especially when it’s someone you love dearly.

Eden keeps a really cute blog at Eden Raczkovi Photography. She shares pictures that’s she’s taken and sometimes talks a little about how she shot them and then how she edited them. Here’s a cute little bio I snagged from her site.

She recently took these silhouettes. And yeah, that’s me! But setting aside the fact that I’m the model, I think they are some awesome shots (although, they really do highlight my heavy brow…viewers discretion is advised…). She also goes into some of the details about silhouettes and how to take them.

Anyway, Eden’s been doing a 30 day photo challenge! It’s similar to the photo challenge that I would randomly select prompts from last year. You can check out her Day 1 and Day 2 posts for more details. I’ve decided to give it a go myself! I could use a little something to inspire me and get the creative juices flowing. And Eden has really inspired me with her awesome shots.

30 Day Photo Challenge: Day 1 “Yourself”

I’m not going to try and catch up with Eden, I’m just going to start from Day 1 and be a little bit behind her. The first prompt is “Yourself.” I would love to just skip over this one. I mean, sure, I am just as narcissistic and egotistical as the next person (aren’t we all just a little bit, if we’re really honest with ourselves?) and I admit that when I’m bored I take loads of self portraits. But when it comes to seriously taking a picture of ones self? Well, the result looks a little bit like this:

Not really serious at all.

I took this picture with my new iPad mini. I’ve been really happy with the quality of the pictures that I’ve taken with my iPad and this is my first run with posting one on the blog. I edited it with new favorite app, Snapseed. I added the watermark and re-sized in Photoshop.

So, there’s Day 1! On to Day 2 and the rest of the the 30 Day Challenge! I hope you decide to follow along and maybe post some of your challenge pictures.

And be sure to check out Eden’s blog. It’s well worth the click!

Allison

 

Author: Allison H.

English Teacher. Coffee Addict. Lover of Books, Music, Knitting, Movies/TV, and other Nerdy Things. Typos and autocorrect are my arch nemeses.

6 thoughts on “In Which We Discuss Best Friends, Photography Challenges, and Technical Issues…”

  1. YOU ARE PRECIOUS!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!! and I’m so excited about you doing the 30 day challenge with me!!!
    I’m very lucky to have you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

