#SOCSunday: Plotting a Journey…

Another Sunday, another Stream of Consciousness Post!

This week, Jana is talking about journeys. So that’s the prompt. You can read Jana’s excellent post here, where you can also link up and read some of the other great posts that people are linking up with.

Time starts now!

Right now the biggest journey that I plan on making in the near future is going downstairs to get a cup of coffee.

I hear it’s cinnamon chocolate coffee, or something wonderful like that.

But ironically, last night I was plotting and scheming a journey.

I was looking up plane tickets and hotels.

Why? You might wonder

well, because I want to go somewhere!

I’ve wanted to go somewhere by myself for awhile. I’ve never gone on vacation, just me, no body else with me. And that’s one of my goals, to go somewhere all by myself.

I am after all a big girl now.

That being said, I don’t know if I’ll manage this year. I still have a ways to go with money before I can afford to do something like that.

Perhaps if I stopped going to school and opted not to buy a car formyself, they maybe I could go farily quickly.

But the way I see it, those are stops on the way. And they are more neccisary for me than going on vacation.

Even if I contanstly tell myself that I need a mental wellness getaway.

Which I do.

But I also need other things.

So Savannah will wait. But I will get there.

Ā __

As an afterwards, of sorts, I thought of this very familiar and popular Frost poem, The Road Not Taken. Particularly these last three lines:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

I think it goes right a long with today’s prompt. Because, sometimes, the best journeys are the ones we didn’t expect. And it’s always best to follow your heart, even if the journey isn’t the one that’s as popular.

Allison

Author: Allison H.

English Teacher. Coffee Addict. Lover of Books, Music, Knitting, Movies/TV, and other Nerdy Things. Typos and autocorrect are my arch nemeses.

5 thoughts on “#SOCSunday: Plotting a Journey…”

    1. Thank you. I figure, if it’s meant to happen it will happen. If not, then that means other things are in store for me. Perhaps even better things.

  1. Wandering by from SOCS …

    I think, FWIW, that the most important part of your journey is that it gives you something to plan and plot and anticipate.

    It doesn’t matter if you get there this year – you have many other goals that are just as important to you. But, and I speak from personal experience, having something to look forward to can never be undervalued. A few years ago, in the same summer, my kids got married. Anticipating the trips to those weddings kept me on cloud nine for months – before and after.

    So, enjoy the planning. It’s one of the best parts of the journey.

  2. šŸ™‚ Aw. You’re sweet. I would probably only be gone for a weekend. Unless I found an uber good deal by staying longer. Dunno. Still in the concept phase. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

