SOC Sunday: I wasn’t always going to be an English Major…

I wasn’t originally an English Major.

In fact, I don’t think I really knew that there was such a thing as an English Major.

When I started college I was a History Major. Because I had always loved History and Historical Fiction had always been one of my favorite genres of literature to read. It was my first love.

Then I decided that I wanted to go with Native American Studies. My mother’s family is Cherokee and I’ve always been so interested in learning more about the culture. I also liked reading books about Native Americans and other related topics. Another one of my loves.

I had also thought about majoring in Music, but that would require learning the piano on several levels and the thought made me a little queasy. Even if I did love the piano.

One day, while perusing the College Catalog I was commenting to my mother how I wanted to make sure I could stuff as many literature classes into my electives as possible.

It was then that my mom, who is quite brilliant asked, “isn’t there an English program at TCC?”

Oh.

So I checked it out and sure enough, TCC had an English program. It was settled right then and there. I was going to graduate with a degree in English. There were no and, ifs, or buts about it.

So there’s my 5 minute brain dump! If you’ve never done SOC Sunday, its lots of fun! Basically, you take a prompt (this week’s is “Career Choices”) and you set a timer to 5 minutes and just UNLOAD! It’s really refreshing and like I said, lots of fun. Click on the image below to go to the SOC Sunday posts to link up and read everybody else’s posts! Also, check out Jana’s Thinking Place, she hosts it every week!

Also, in addition to what I’ve written above, I’d like to add that I’m not really sure where I’m going to take my English degree. I’ve already gotten my Associates and I’m working on my Bachelors. I’d love to get my Masters and maybe teach at the High School/Community College level. That would be awesome. But I’m leaving my options open, I don’t want to get so focused on what might be that I overlook what could be, or should be.

Does that make sense?

Anyway, Well Wishes!
Allison

Author: Allison H.

English Teacher. Coffee Addict. Lover of Books, Music, Knitting, Movies/TV, and other Nerdy Things. Typos and autocorrect are my arch nemeses.

2 thoughts on “SOC Sunday: I wasn’t always going to be an English Major…”

    1. Haha,yeah. My first semester or two of college I flip flopped like nobodies business. But once I stumbled upon English, I knew there was no going back, I had found my “thing.” Although, oddly enough, if I ever did completely start over again I do think I would pursue music. I’m much more confident about myself now. But English will always be my first love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

