SOCS: Giving it a Whirl

I’ve always wanted to try this out, the Stream of Consciousness Sunday.

But I was a little bit scared.

Mostly because if I allowed myself to just unload I’m pretty sure I would say things that I wouldn’t want anyone else to know. But at this point, I think unloading is what I need.

What made me try this anyway?

Good question.

It’s Anna’s fault.

Just putting the blame where it belongs. Although I am grateful for her. She’s been so helpful, heck, she’s always helpful. She’s a good person and I am grateful that I get to call her my friend.

I don’t mean to copycat her, or compete, but when I saw her give SOCS a whirl last week I thought to myself, “well, if she can do it, so can I!”

I felt inspired.

It’s like the time when I watched one of the children in my church sing a special by themselves. I had wanted to sing a solo since I was a kid but I was always too scared. But watching that kid singing that morning I thought to myself, “Allison, you can do that.”

I didn’t do it immediately, but I did eventually. I started slow, singing in groups and then in choir. Eventually I started singing solo parts.

This past Easter, I sang a whole song by myself.

 

This is my post. I admit, I caught myself proof reading and editing a little. Baby steps Allison, baby steps.

Also, Thanks Anna. And Thanks Jana for hosting! I’m glad the week I decided to try this was prompt-less.

Well Wishes,
Allison

4 Replies to “SOCS: Giving it a Whirl”

Leave a Reply

