If I Were a Painter…

I was, as is my usual time killer, perusing Pinterest when I came across this really awesome wall mural.

(Click image for source and link)

I feel in love instantly with the idea. However, I wasn’t quite ready to up and paint a mural on my wall. I wanted to try this out though, so I thought about it for a few minutes and I grabbed a few things and got to painting.

I had a lot of fun with these! I found a cross stitch design online that was simple enough and traced it onto a piece of watercolor paper. I “borrowed” some paint from my sister and went at it. I did the pink and red one first, and while it’s nice you can see the pencil marks through the paint.

I free styled the brown and blue version and I like it much better. Not only can you not see pencil marks, because there are none, but my paint strokes were better. I’m not a very good painter, but I’m pretty proud of these!

I can’t wait to try this again, perhaps on a larger scale. These are only about 5″ tall and long, so they aren’t very big at all!

Eventually I’ll paint that mural. Perhaps on a canvas, so I can move it around.

Anything inspired you recently?

Well Wishes,
Allison

4 Replies to “If I Were a Painter…”

Leave a Reply

