i carry your heart with me

Over the past few semesters I’ve read many a poem and many a poem about love.

Shakespeare’s Sonnets, the sweeping romanticism of Lord Byron, I’ve read a good many of them. Many of them wax eloquent on the subject of love. They’re good and beautiful pieces of literature.

Tonight, I can’t help thinking about my favorite poem about love.

Despite the grand and beautiful poems of the Romantics that I’ve read and love, my favorite shall always be “i carry your heart with me” by e e cummings.

For me, this poem feels real. It speaks of deeper things, its mature and beautiful and I love its cadence. When I read it I see the type of love that lasts at least 50 years without failing.

If you’ve never read it, here it is.

โ€œI carry your heart with me (I carry it in my heart)I am never without it (anywhere
I go you go,my dear; and whatever is done by only me is your doing,my darling)
I fear no fate (for you are my fate,my sweet)I want no world (for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

I carry your heart (I carry it in my heart)โ€

source

My first semester at the university and my journey towards my B.A. starts in less than a month now. I’m excited to start the next leg of my academic career.

I know I’ll read many a more poem. But I wanted to stop and remember this one, because this poem is one of the reasons why I love literature.

Well Wishes,
Allison

Author: Allison H.

English Teacher. Coffee Addict. Lover of Books, Music, Knitting, Movies/TV, and other Nerdy Things. Typos and autocorrect are my arch nemeses.

8 thoughts on “i carry your heart with me”

  1. cummings is my favorite poet, overall. I first fell in love with his work in high school, when my teacher gave me “you told him, I told him”. When I was a school aide (before I retired) I used to turn the kids on to him by noting that he did with words what beat boxers did with music. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful poem of his.

      1. Indeed. Oddly, my ex and I actually know a relative (through his second wife) of his, although we didn’t find that out for many years. She’s an interesting woman, but is now, sadly, battling various types of dementia.

Leave a Reply

