Springy

It’s beginning to look Springy outside! Our bulbs have been popping up for a few weeks now and just this last week they started to bloom! I’m so excited to see a little green showing up.

Another green thing that’s situated itself into my life is this little bracelet I made for Nerd Wars.

I made it from a small skein of handspun. It was spun from a small sample of fiber that came with my spindle. I have a few similar skeins laying around the house from my experiments with my drop spindle. I thought a little bracelet would work excellently for using this up.I made the pattern up and I got to use one of my buttons I keep stashed away!

So, in honor of the bits of green popping up here and there I’ve decided to post the pattern/recipe that I used to make the bracelet! I realize that the yarn itself is rather heavy and winery in it’s wooliness, but I bet this would work with some cotton!

*reminds self to try cotton next time*

Supplies:
Size US11
Bulky handspun yarn
1” Button – Thread to match yarn if your buttonholes are too small for yarn
Cable Needle
Yarn Needle

Gauge:
3sts/4rows = 1”

Pattern:
Cast on 8 stitches.

Work 14 rows of stockinette stitch (or roughly half of your wrist measurement).  I slipped the first stitch of every row to create a cleaner edge. Be sure to end with a purl row.

Cable Row : (With right side facing) Slip 4 stitches onto a cable needle and hold in front, knit remaining 4 stitches then knit the 4 stitches on the cable needle. (Left leaning cable)

Work 11 rows of stockinette stitch.

Next Row:  Bind off 2 stitches at beginning of row, work remaining stitches (6 stitches remain).

Next Row: Bind off 2 stitches at beginning of row, work remaining stitches (4 stitches remain).

Work 2 rows of stockinette stitch.

Next Row: Knit one stitch, bind off 2 stitches, work the remaining stitches.

Next Row: Knit one stitch, cast on 2 stitches, work the remaining stitches.

Bind off all stitches.

Weave in the ends and sew the button on to the bracelet and voila! A quick little bracelet!

3 Replies to “Springy”

Leave a Reply

