I Don’t Crochet…

well, most of the time I don’t. I tend to avoid crochet like the plague. Really.

It’s not that I hate it, in fact I really want to crochet. However, I have never been able to get the knack of it. Not like how I’ve gotten the knack of knitting. I end up butchering perfectly fine crochet patterns and I gave up trying to learn new things.

So, I was quite surprised at myself when I decided to start a granny square blanket. Though, when I think about it, I shouldn’t be surprised. I like granny squares a lot and they happen to be the one thing I don’t mess up, much.

So, I grabbed  the quickest hook plus some yarn and took a look at a tutorial to freshen my memory. I haven’t tried a granny square in a long time, but once I got going I really took to it, almost second nature.

I’m using an US H hook and some Caron Simply Soft. So far so good, maybe I’ll stick with it!

So there you go, I’m crocheting a granny square blanket. And I don’t crochet. There’s no telling where this is going to lead…

Well Wishes,
Allison

4 Replies to “I Don’t Crochet…”

  1. I can really relate to this post. Whenever I follow a crochet pattern, I’m like, crochet into which chain? Which loop? Which stitch? LOL! Your square looks like you’ve got the hang of it. Very pretty…love that red!

    1. Thanks, and yes, it’s actually working out really well thus far. What’s nice about the granny square is that I don’t manage to come up with extra stitches, or not enough. I hate working along on my crochet and realizing I’m missing a whole repeat and I have no clue where it went. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

