Lillie’s Modern Reticule

I’ve been rather quiet, but it’s because my needles have been busy! My latest concoction is a little drawstring bag I made as a Christmas gift. I call it “Lillie’s Modern Reticule”!

Now, you might be asking yourself what a reticule is, well I did a little research! A reticule is a drawstring bag used by ladies from around the 18th to early 19th century. In particular, the Regency era.  Ladies started using these little bags because the high waistlines and straight skirts of the Regency dress didn’t allow for pockets, so they needed something to carry things, like handkerchief, snuffboxes, and love letters.

Eventually the drawstring became a clasp, but the size and efficiency of the reticule is very similar to the modern evening bag. It was not uncommon for the reticule to be elaborately beaded or embroidered. They were either made from fabric, or were knitted. Often they used fabrics that coordinated with a certain gown.

I made this one for my Jane Austen enthused sister, but with a nice splash of bright blue to match her bold personality. I designed this bag myself, and I’m rather proud of it. It’s not that difficult, or different, but  I am thinking about refining the pattern and posting it as a free pattern on Ravelry. I may just make one for myself on top of that!

I have more things coming up for the blog, to keep a look out.

Well Wishes,
Allison

One Reply to “Lillie’s Modern Reticule”

Leave a Reply

