Knitting & Haiku

This round of Nerd Wars the Intellectual Challenge is all about the Haiku. You don’t know what a Haiku is? Well, let me put on my literature student hat on for a minute and give you a short lesson.

Haiku are really very easy, here is the gist. A Haiku is a poem, invented by the Japanese. It consists of 17 syllables divided up into three lines. The first line has 5 syllables, the second 7 syllables, and the third 5 syllables. When it comes to poetry, you can’t get any simpler than that. Especially since it’s not necessary to rhyme everything. So for instance, here is a little Haiku I just made up:

Knitting and Haiku,
is very easy to do.
See what I did there?

Some people also think Haiku does not make sense. I love them.

Anyway, the object of the challenge is to either knit something that represents some element of the Haiku, or to turn in a project with a Haiku you have written. I decided to write my own, but I couldn’t stop with just one. I wanted to tell a story, because the project I had been working on had a few bumps along the way. So I created a longer poem where each stanza was its own individual Haiku. It ended up looking something like this:

A cute mug cozy
started with much care and joy
but gauge fooled me so.

Soon my small mistake
became apparent, it’s big
too big, much too big.

Its repurposed
it now covers metal can,
much prettier now.

Still want a cozy
so scraps are used to make one
much better this time.

While working on this,
colors remind me of tea
with cream, so yummy.

Also, reminds me
of Bilbo, serving Gandalf
tea in first movie.

And that my friends, is what I submitted. Did I mention I’m on the Lord of the Rings team this time around? Oh I didn’t? Well anyway, yes I am on the Lord of the Rings team this time. We are called Team Precious. Good times, good times.

So, try a Haiku, really they aren’t hard. And lots of fun.

Well Wishes,
Allison

Author: Allison H.

English Teacher. Coffee Addict. Lover of Books, Music, Knitting, Movies/TV, and other Nerdy Things. Typos and autocorrect are my arch nemeses.

1 thought on “Knitting & Haiku”

Leave a Reply

